--- title: "Bucket Settings for WCN " slug: "bucket-settings" description: "Configure bucket settings to preserve and manage file versions within Wasabi Cloud NAS (WCN)." updated: 2026-07-30T18:05:27Z published: 2026-07-30T18:05:31Z canonical: "docs.wasabi.com/bucket-settings" --- > ## Documentation Index > Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://docs.wasabi.com/llms.txt > Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further. # Bucket Settings for WCN Bucket settings are configurable properties that enable you to preserve and manage file versions. Through the WCN Configuration Interface, you can configure: - Versioning—Enables users to store and retrieve a specific version of a replicated or modified file. Versioning preserves file modifications on the source by keeping the modified versions as a separate file on the bucket. When versioning is enabled, every version of your replicated files will be saved as a separate version. When versioning is disabled, WCN will overwrite the previous version of a file and replace it with the updated, modified version. For more detail, refer to [Versioning: Enabling/Disabling](https://docs.wasabi.com/docs/versioning-enablingdisabling). Once versioning is enabled, you can configure a global versioning policy. A global versioning policy is used to limit the number of copies of the same file. While a global versioning policy is valid for all sources, you can overwrite the global policy by creating and assigning a specific policy to a specific source. If you configured a versioning policy for a source-target pair, WCN will not apply the global policy to that source. To configure a global versioning policy, refer to [Configuring a Versioning Policy](https://docs.wasabi.com/docs/configuring-versioning). - Compliance Mode—Prohibits the modification or deletion of files from the source. Configure the amount of time that objects in a bucket are retained. For more detail, refer to [Compliance Mode: Enabling/Disabling](https://docs.wasabi.com/docs/compliance-mode-enablingdisabling). Both versioning and compliance mode can be enabled at the same time. The following table provides scenarios about each setting. | **Operation** | **When only Versioning is enabled** | **When only Compliance is enabled** | **When both Versioning and Compliance are enabled** | | --- | --- | --- | --- | | Modify | Users can update the file at the source. | Users cannot update the file at the source until after the retention period is reached. | Users can update the file at the source. | | Version | Each time the file at the source is updated, a new version is created both in the Wasabi Cloud and the source folder. | No new versions will be created either at the source or on the Wasabi Cloud. | Each time the file at the source is updated, a new version is created in both the Wasabi Cloud and the source folder. | | Delete | Users can delete the original object, any version, and/or all the versions at either the source or in the Wasabi Cloud. | Users cannot delete the object until after the retention period. | Users cannot delete the original object, any version, and/or all the versions at the source or in the Wasabi Cloud. |