--- title: "Compliance Mode: Enabling/Disabling in WCN" slug: "compliance-mode-enablingdisabling" description: "Configure compliance mode to prohibit the modification or deletion of files from the source." updated: 2026-08-21T17:34:53Z published: 2026-08-21T17:34:53Z canonical: "docs.wasabi.com/compliance-mode-enablingdisabling" --- > ## Documentation Index > Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://docs.wasabi.com/llms.txt > Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further. # Compliance Mode: Enabling/Disabling in WCN When compliance mode is enabled on a bucket, the local source corresponding to the bucket is set to WORM (write only read many) mode. WORM mode prevents the files in the local folder from being edited and deleted. If a local file has been modified, the system will force the user to save the content as a new file. To enable compliance mode, follow the steps below. > Any modifications made to versioning and compliance settings sync between the WCN software and the WCN storage account (Wasabi Console). To ensure that updates take effect in the WCN software, users are required to refresh the WCN software following any modifications made in the Wasabi Console. To do so, click **Refresh all** on the WCN client. > Compliance mode can only be disabled from the Wasabi Console. 1. Under the selected source, click **Bucket Settings**. 2. Click the toggle to enable Compliance Mode (on/off): ![](https://cdn.document360.io/bef0a1ea-7768-4d5a-b520-c4fe2f7fafad/Images/Documentation/configuring-bucket-settings-image-u3nd6uh5.png) 3. A message will notify you that compliance mode can only be disabled from the Wasabi Console. Click **Yes**. 4. You will now set the Retention Time. This determines when objects in the bucket can be modified and/or deleted. Enter a number in the type field. ![](https://cdn.document360.io/bef0a1ea-7768-4d5a-b520-c4fe2f7fafad/Images/Documentation/compliance and versioning enabled.png) 5. Click the drop-down to select a unit.