Documentation Index

Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://docs.wasabi.com/llms.txt

Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further.

Managing File and Folder Versions in WCN

Prev Next

When versioning is enabled on your bucket, WCN provides a list of available file versions to manage. Additional information about the size of each version and the modification time is provided. WCN enables you to manage folder and file versions in the following ways.

  • Restore 

    • A specific version of a replicated file

    • A folder/file to a version before a specific date

  • Delete

    • A specific version

    • Obsolete folder/file versions

  • Analyze

    • The contents of a folder

Optionally, you can use an IAM policy on the bucket to restrict the listing of versioned objects synced locally (to the source folder). For example, in your WCN storage account, create an IAM policy on the bucket and deny “ListBucket” and “ListBucketVersion” actions in the policy.

When you restore the version of all files in the folder to the last submitted version before a selected date and time, you can automatically retrieve each restored version on the source and add the restored version as the newest copy on the bucket. This functionality can be useful when, for example, a ransomeware attack occurs on your on-premises storage, enabling you to revert all files to their unencrypted state.

To free up space on the bucket, you can delete all older versions of all files from the bucket and discard them as obsolete. If the deleted file version is linked to the source file (the one that would normally be retrieved if you attempt to open it), WCN automatically links the file to the newest version on the bucket. Additionally, you can delete any selected or all newer versions of a file from the bucket and discard them as obsolete, thus freeing space on the bucket. Newer versions can be considered obsolete if, for example, they are encrypted versions replicated to the bucket after a ransomeware attack occurs on the source. If the deleted file version is linked to the source file, WCN automatically links the file to the last version on the bucket that was submitted before the selected date and time. 

Additionally, you can analyze the contents of a whole folder on your source beginning with a selected point in time. This analysis provides information on the total number of files with versions in the folder, the overall size of all versions on the bucket, the number and size of versions replicated before the selected date and time, and the number and size of file versions that are stored on the bucket after the selected date and time.

You can manage the versions of files/folders on a NAS source in the control folder.

Restoring a Specific Version of a File

  1. Navigate to Windows Explorer.

  2. Right-click the file to restore.

  3. Select Properties.

  4. In the Properties window, select the Versions tab.

    WCN lists all available versions of the file in descending order, starting with the newest version. The version currently stored on the source is displayed with a checkmark.

  5. Select a file version in the list. 

  6. Click Restore.

    If the bucket in the Wasabi object storage has a policy that denies the "S3:GetObjectVersion" action, performing a restore action will display the following message: "The version of this object cannot be restored. Please make sure the policy associated with the target allows you to perform this action."

Restoring Files in a Folder to Their State Before a Selected Date and Time

  1. In Windows Explorer, right-click the folder.

  2. Select Properties.

  3. In the Properties dialog, select the Versions tab.

  4. Select the desired date and time in the Timestamp boxes.

  5. Click Analyze Content.

    Depending on the number of files in the folder and their size, the analysis may take time. Monitor the progress bar to make sure WCN has gathered complete information.

  6. Click Timestamp Restoration. WCN displays a dialog, listing all files, whose current version on the source is different from the version replicated before the selected date and time. It also gives you information about the size of the current version on the source and the date the last version has been replicated as well as about the size and date of the version which will be restored against the selected timestamp.

  7. Do one of the following.

    • In the left pane of the dialog, select a folder, to restore all its files to their version, replicated before the selected timestamp.

    • Browse to and select a file, to restore its version to the one, replicated before the selected timestamp.

  8. Select whether to automatically retrieve on the source each file whose current version differs from the one which will be restored.

  9. Select whether the version which will be restored on the source should be added as a newest version on the bucket.

  10. Click Restore Selection.

Deleting a Specific Version of a File

  1. In Windows Explorer, right-click the file and select Properties.

  2. In the Properties dialog, select the Versions tab.

    WCN lists all available versions of the file in descending order, starting with the newest one. The version currently stored on the source is displayed with a checkmark.

  3. Select a file version in the list.

  4. To delete the version from the bucket, click Delete.

You cannot delete the version that is currently stored on your source (which is indicated by a checkmark icon). To delete this version from the bucket, you first need to restore another version of the file on your source.

If the bucket in the Wasabi object storage has a policy that denies the "S3:GetObjectVersion" action, performing a restore action will display the following message: "The version of this object cannot be restored. Please make sure the policy associated with the target allows you to perform this action."

Deleting Obsolete Versions of Files in a Folder

  1. In Windows Explorer, right-click the folder.

  2. Select Properties.

  3. In the Properties dialog, select the Versions tab.

  4. In the Timestamp boxes, select the desired date and time.

  5. Click Analyze Content.

    Depending on the number of files in the folder and their size, the analysis may take time. Monitor the progress bar to make sure WCN has gathered complete information.

  6. Click Obsolete.

  7. You can select files to delete and then click Delete Selection.

WCN deletes from the bucket all versions of the files, which have been submitted to the bucket before the selected date and time.

Analyzing the Contents of a Folder

  1. In Windows Explorer, right-click the folder.

  2. Select Properties.

  3. In the Properties dialog, select the Versions tab.

  4. Select the desired date and time in the Timestamp

  5. Click Analyze Content.

    Depending on the number of files in the folder and their size, the analysis may take time. Monitor the progress bar to make sure WCN has gathered complete information.

The following information is displayed.

  • Total—The total number of files on the source and their size.

  • Versions—The number of overall file versions and their size on the bucket.

  • Newer—The number of file versions that were replicated to the bucket after the selected date and time, and their size on the bucket.

  • Obsolete—The number of file versions that were stored on the bucket before the selected date and time, and their size on the bucket.

  • Different—The number of files and their size, which will be changed on the source, if you decide to restore the state of the folder to the state it had on the selected date and time.