More Options for Folders and Files
    • 16 Jan 2024
    • PDF

    More Options for Folders and Files

    • PDF

    Article Summary

    Working With One or Multiple Folders and/or Files

    You can select one or more folders or files and then select actions to perform on those files. Simply click to the left of each folder or file. In this example, two files are selected, as shown with.

    Now you can click the More Options icon,, to perform actions on the selected folders and/or files:


    If you select a folder or multiple files, only the Delete option is available.

    Make Public and Make Private may be available, depending on your access.

    All other options are available when you select one file.


    white-line-350px

    Downloading a File

    You can download a stored file to your local computer.

    1. Click to select a file. Then, click  .
    2. Select Download As.
    3. You are prompted to enter a name for the file after it is downloaded. By default, the name of the stored file is displayed. Optionally, enter a new name.

    4. Click Download. The file is downloaded to your local Downloads folder.

    Renaming a File

    You can change the name of a file.

    1. Click to select a file. Then, click  .
    2. Select Rename.
    3. Enter a new name for the file.

      Avoid the use of the following special characters in a file name:
           % (percent)
           < (less than symbol)
           > (greater than symbol)
           \ (backslash) # (pound sign)
           ? (question mark)

      Certain file names may have non-ASCII characters that are 4 byte UTF8 characters (such as emojis). Wasabi does not support these characters and will return a 400 error message to an application that tries to write a file with 4 byte UTF characters in the file name. We recommend renaming the affected files, if possible.
    4. Optionally, check the box to overwrite any existing file that uses the name to which you are renaming.
    5. Click Rename.

    Adding File Tags

    This feature is described in Advanced Usage (Object Tags).

    Deleting a Folder(s) and/or File(s)

    You can easily remove a folder(s) and/or file(s) (or all folders and files) from a bucket. All objects in a folder are deleted when the folder is deleted.

    When you delete a folder or file, all objects stored with the Wasabi service are subject to Wasabi’s minimum storage policy, which applies even if the objects are deleted. For additional information, refer to wasabi.com/pricing.
    You cannot delete a folder or file from a compliance bucket.
    1. Clickto select a file. (You can click in the list header to select all folders and files.) Then, click .
    2. Select Delete.
    3. A message prompts you to confirm that you want to delete the object(s).

    4. Click Delete if you are sure you want to delete the object(s).
    Wasabi calculates data every 24 hours when determining quota for buckets. If you attempt to free up quota space by deleting files, it may take up to 24 hours for that change to be effective in Wasabi and allow you to continue uploading data.

    Sharing a File with a Presigned URL

    A file does not need to be made public before you enable the presigned URL feature.

    You can share an object for up to 12 hours or until your session expires. To share, you create a presigned URL, which uses security credentials and lets you grant time-limited permission to download the object through a browser or application.

    Until the time-limited permission expires, anyone can access an object shared with a presigned URL—even if the bucket and object are private.
    1. Click to select a file. Then, click  .
    2. Select Share with Presigned URL button to grant access to an object for a specific period of time.
    3. Enter the number of hours and minutes for which the file will be shared.

    4. Click Create Presigned URL.
    5. A message shows the URL created for this object. Be sure to copy the URL before closing this window. Once this window is closed, you will not be able to copy the presigned URL again.

    6. Click Close.

    Making a File Public or Private

    This feature is described in Advanced Usage (Bucket and Object Access).



    Was this article helpful?